About this Zentangle Stuff

Ok, so I was browsing a blog I follow and came across a post regarding Zentangle, and curious, I looked it up. Well it seems that someone has gone out and coined the phrase Zentangle and tied to, well basically the art form of doodling. They even claim this on their website (http://mariathomasonline.com/zentangle.php), calling it a “fascinating new art form”, and even state on their site that “Maria and Rick Roberts developed this fascinating creation”.

Fascinating as it may be, it is not new. It has been around for ages, and I don’t think these two have the right to laying claim to creating a new art form out something people have been doing since long before my time. Maybe they can coin the term Zentangle and turn that into an instructional idea on how to use doodles for relaxation and a form of meditation, but lay claim to a new art form, Not!

I can do it as well. I was doing these types of drawings (along with countless other kids) in my text books, on my school folders and on brown paper bags used as text book covers, as well as in my sketch books. We (the group of friends I had that was the terror of text books with our doodles) called them Schoodles, because they were doodles in/on the schools text books, of course. That stuff is long gone, so I could not prove it. Not the point anyway. So I am coining my own phrase for the same thing that I and countless other kids was doing, and simply calling it MediDoodle” for meditative or meditational Doodle.

I also have found where these are referred to as ZenDoodle’s which is just the same thing, only someone else’s spin on it. However from what I have seen, a lot of these go beyond mere doodling, but are complex pieces of abstract art. However I do recognize that a simple doodle can easily turn into a complex piece, which is kind of the point. Only one is supposed to do as a meditative exercise and gain relaxation, a clearing of the mind, and have fun. Whether it ends up as a simple doodle or a complex abstract piece.

So i will refer to mine as MediDoodles, please associate this with me! 🙂

This entry was posted in Abstract, JustStuff, MediDoodle, myArt, ZenDoodle, ZenTangle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment